FEB 11, 2017 3rd Annual Award Ceremony and Gala at National Arts Club NYC

Home / Gallery / FEB 11, 2017 3rd Annual Award Ceremony and Gala at National Arts Club NYC

Congratulations to all of the 2016 GFAA Nominees!

The culmination of a year of reviewing over 2,000 exhibitions to recognize the best curated fine art and design exhibitions in the world ends in the revelation of the thirteen Global Fine Art Awards winners.



    Selected from 78 nominees in 22 countries, 5 continents and 52 cities, the third annual GFAA winners of the 2016 awards were honored at a black-tie Award Ceremony and Gala on February 11th, 2017. Museum directors and curators, gallery directors and owners, artists and art aficionados were among the guests at the historic National Arts Club in New York City. Some of the honorees in attendance include: Charles de Mooij, Director of Het Noordbrabants Museum, Den Bosch,The Netherlands; Gary Tinterow, Director Museum of Fine Arts Houston; Sean Hemingway, Curator, The Metropolitan Museum of Art; Susie Guzman, Director, Hauser and Wirth Gallery; Susan Davidson, Co-curator of Rauschenberg in China with David White and Curatorial Advisor to the Robert Rauschenberg Foundation; Helen Hsu, Assistant Curator, Robert Rauschenberg Foundation; Lee Glazer, Curator, the Smithsonian Museum’s Freer and Sackler Galleries; Bryan Keene, Assistant Curator, The J. Paul Getty Museum; Fariba Farshad, Director Candlestar, and Co-Founder Photo London; Lina Lin, Researcher, National Palace Museum, Taipei, Republic of China (Taiwan); and Jonathan Henery, nephew of Christo, accepting the award for best Public Art on behalf of the artist Christo and Jeanne Claude.   The event was co-hosted by GFAA President and CEO, Judy Holm, and GFAA Advisory Board Chair, Lawrence M. Shindell, and presided over by Master of Ceremony, Peter Trippi, Editor in Chief of Fine Art Connoisseur magazine, and GFAA Advisory Board member, GFAA Judge emeritus. The Gala was co-chaired by GFAA Advisory Board members Danielle Amato Milligan and Ann Lydecker Bunge; and the Gala Committee was chaired by GFAA Advisory Board member Eleanor Goldhar.   This year’s judges are Dean Phelus (American Alliance of Museums, Washington, D.C.); James M. Bradburne (Pinacoteca di Brera and Biblioteca Braidense, Milan); Gina Costa (independent art historian and curator, Director for marketing and public relations at the Snite Museum of Art, University of Notre Dame, Chicago); Barbara Aust-Wegemund, independent art historian and curator, Hamburg); and Joe Lin-Hill (Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo).  They selected the winners in the following 11 categories: Contemporary and Post-War Art (solo artist and group/theme); Impressionist and Modern Art (solo artist and group/theme); Renaissance, Baroque, Old Masters and Dynasties (solo artist and group/theme); Ancient Art; Public Art, Design, Photography and Fringe.   In addition to the juried awards, the final award, “Youniversal,” presented by Vastari, recognizes the best exhibition of the year as determined by public vote from people across the globe, which all nominees are eligible to win. Thousands of votes were cast during the voting period, from October 26th through November 13th, 2016. To expand the digital presence of GFAA further, a new award was added this year: YOU-2.  The Top 10 Nominees, based on the Youniversal votes, became eligible for this Twitter-based award.  

Donate Today!